Results » Road » 2007

Tour de Parc Criterium

Wantagh (Long Island), NY

Saturday, October 6, 2007

Tour de Parc Criterium Presented by Kissena Cycling Club in cooperation with the Nassau County Department of Recreation and Parks Wantagh (Long Island), NY Saturday, October 06, 2007
With lots of primes on the line, the action started early. Martin Lechowitz (GS Mengoni) won a $50 prime just 4 laps into the race which led to a counter-attack by Rite Aid Pro Bill Elliston. Elliston was away for about 8 laps until he was joined by Gavi Epstein (CRCA/Sakonnet). The two worked smoothly together but with no Mengoni or Team United riders in the break the move was caught a few laps later. With about 12 laps to go four riders went off the front - Sal Scotto (Sommerville Sports), Robert Mcconville (Capri Foundation), Rafael Urzedowski (Northeastern Hardware) and the 16 old junior rider Lewis Almonte who was making his racing debut for GS Mengoni. The four quickly opened a 20 second lead and it looked like this could be the winning move. Despite having a rider in the break, GS Mengoni led the chase to set up thier ace sprinter Wilson Vasquez and with 3 laps to go the break was caught. The field stayed together and in the final sprint it was Wilson Vasquez (GS Mengoni) edging out Bill Elliston (Rite Aid Pro Cycling Team) with Horrace Burrowes (Team United) rounding out the podium.

From Charlie Issendorf (promoter): A special thanks to all the race sponsors: Champion System, Brand's Cycle Center, Keb Cycle, The Bicycle Planet, Massapequa Park Bicycle Club, Rudy Project and Carmine's Restaurant. Also, thanks to Denise and Maurice (officials), Reid (camera and DJ), Robert (pacer), Paul, Clayton, Joel, Lewis and Mr. I (registration and set-up).

These results are provided for informational purposes only.  Please note that
the protest period for this event has expired and no changes can or will be made
to these results.

35 miles
39 starters

1. Wilson Vasquez (GS Mengoni)
2. Bill Elliston (Rite Aid Pro Cycling Team)
3. Horrace Burrowes (Team United)
4. Anthony Lowe (CRCA/Princeton Review)
5. Rafael Urzedowski (Northeastern Hardware)
6. Glenroy Griffith (Team United)
7. Aubrey Gordon (Liberty Cycle)
8. Juan Pimental (CRCA/Global Locate)
9. Martin Lechowitz (GS Mengoni)
10. Gavriel Epstein (CRCA/Sakonnet)
11. Anthony Taylor (TARGETRAINING)
12. Glenn Schneider (Colavita)

Category 3-4
25 miles
50 starters

1. Reed Albergotti (CRCA/Setanta)
2. Nicholai Masluk (3D Racing)
3. Kirk Catnott (Champion System)
4. Juan Pimental (CRCA/Global Locate)
5. Christoper Loudon (CRCA/Sid's/Cannondale)
6. Jan Micko (GBSC)
7. Tageusz Marzalek (DC Racing)
8. Ryan Pettit (Pro Pedals)

Masters 35+
25 miles
27 starters

1. Stephen Jamison (CRCA/Sid's/Cannondale)
2. Robert Lattanzi (CRCA/Sid's/Cannondale)
3. Vladimir Borovkov (Somerset Wheelmen)
4. Paul Carbonara (CRCA/Axis)
5. Eugene Boronow (GS Mengoni)
6. Jeff Cline (EECT/Kreb Cycle)
7. Dennis Schwandter (EECT/Kreb Cycle)
8. Tom Oakes (Champion System)

Masters 45+
20 miles
19 starters

1. Vladimir Borovkov (Somerset Wheelmen)
2. Glenn Schneider (Colavita)
3. Doug O'Neil (Deno's Wonder Wheel)
4. Aubrey Gordon (Liberty Cycle)
5. Jan Micko (GBSC)

Category 5
10 miles
29 starters

1. Horace Kalphat (Kissena)
2. David Bailey (Unatt)
3. Francisco Soriano (Unatt)
4. Dennis Gunn (Pro Pedals)
5. Adam Zimmerman

Women (cancelled due to lack of participants)