Calvert-Toefield Memorial Road Race

Brooklyn, NY

Saturday, September 15, 2007

Calvert-Toefield Memorial Road Race Presented by Kissena Cycling Club Brooklyn, NY Saturday, September 15, 2007
Brief Race Report: The rain stopped just in time for the start of the annual Calvert-Toefield Memorial. With a 3 minute gap on the Cat 3's, the Cat 4 riders were determined to hold off the chasers behind. The Cat 3's started fast and quickly gained time but the well organized 4's came back strong and for several laps the 3's gained only a handful of seconds per lap. It looked as if the 4's were definitely going to hold off the 3's this year. A combination of the longer-than-normal distance for the Cat 4's and the Cat 3's sensing the real danger of not catching eventually led to the gap times dropping dramatically in the final five laps. With 4 to go the gap was 1:30. 3 to go and it was 40 seconds. At 2 to go the 3's caught the 4's. Despite some late race attacks the field stayed together and it was Team United's James Joseph who took the win and the Calvert-Memorial trophy ahead of Bryan Hass (Zephyr Cycling) and Richard Gonzalez (CRCA/Global Locate).

These results are provided for informational purposes only.  Please note that
the protest period for this event has expired and no changes can or will be made
to these results.

Calvert-Toefield Memorial Road Race
September 15, 2007
Brooklyn, NY

Category 3-4 Handicap
50 miles
77 Starters

1. James Joseph (Team United)
2. Bryan Hass (Zephyr Cycling)
3. Richard Gonzalez (CRCA/Global Locate)
4. Johan Burrowes (Team United)
5. Hammean Walker (USI)
6. Gavin Robertson (CRCA/Global Locate)
7. Rich Foley (Keltic Construction)
8. Tadeusz Marszalek (DC Racing)
9. Dan Lim (CRCA/Princeton Review)
10. Lenny Katz (Kissena)

Category 5
17 miles
18 starters

1. Rob Havemeyer (Unatt)
2. Matthew Finlay (Liberty Cycle)
3. Brendan Newman (Bike and Build)
4. George Whyte (Unatt)
5. Jeremy Dawkins (The Bicycle Depot)