Results » Road » 2010

Brooklyn Spring Series

Brooklyn (Floyd Bennett Field), NY

Saturday, March 27, 2010

Brooklyn Spring Series Presented by Kissena Cycling Club Brooklyn (Floyd Bennett Field), NY Saturday, March 27, 2010

These results are provided for informational purposes only.  Please note that
the protest period for this event has expired and no changes can or will be made
to these results.

Brooklyn Spring Series
March 27, 2010
Floyd Bennett Field, NY

Pro / Cat 1-2-3
40 miles

1. Daniel Zmolik (CRCA/AXA)
2. John Loehner (CRCA/AXA)
3. Wilson Vasquez (GS Mengoni)
4. Jackie Simes (Jamis Sutter Home/Colavita)
5. Mike Margarite (CRCA/AXA)
6. J.P. Partland (Kissena)
7. Ben Woodbury (BVF)
8. John DeFallon (CRCA)
9. Karl Rahn (CRCA/AXA)
10, Sean Barry (BVF)

Brief Race Report:  The field stayed together for the first 5 or so laps until a group of
four escaped: Daniel Zmolik and John Loehner (both CRCA/AXA), Wilson Vasquez (GS Mengoni)
and Pro rider Jackie Simes (Jamis Sutter Home/Colavita).  The four worked well together
and quickly opened a gap.  Simes had to drop back to the field after stopping to fix a mechanical.
Fearing Vasquez would win the sprint the two CRCA/AXA riders started attacking Vasquez with
three laps to go and finally broke him on the last lap.  First Zmolik got away and soloed in for the win.
Then Loehner came in solo for second followed by Vasquez in third.  Back in the field,
the wind took its' toll and once again riders came in one-at-a-time.  Simes regrouped from
his earlier mechanical and soled in for fourth, last week's winner Mike Magarite (CRCA/AXA)
soloed in for fifth, J.P. Partland (Kissena) soloed in for sixth, Ben Woodbury (BVF) soloed in
for seventh and the fieldsprint for 8th went to John DeFallon (CRCA)

Category 4
25 miles

1. Leznek Sniadowski (CRCA/Organic Athlete)
2. James Mahlman (BVF)
3. Josh Parker (Kissena)
4. Michael Perlberg (Kissena)
5. Isaac Dinner (Columbia)

Brief Race Report:  Leznek Sniadowski (CRCA/Organic Athlete), James Mahlman (BVF) and
Josh Parker (Kissena) broke away early and held off the field by over two minutes with
Sniadowski taking the win.  Michael Perlberg (Kissena) rode most of the race alone and
held on for fourth with Isaac Dinner (Columbia)   taking the fieldsprint for fifth.

Masters  40+
25 miles

1. Dennis Schwandter (GBSC)
2. Thomas Luzio (Deno's Wonder Wheel)
3. Robert Lombardi (BVF)
4. Jacksom Wandres (Deno's Wonder Wheel)
5. Samuel Frijas (El Rodaje)

Brief Race Report: Tom Luzio (Deno's Wonder Wheel) escaped mid-race and looked to be soliong
in for the win until Dennis Schwandter (GBSC) bridged with 3 laps to go.  Schwandter took the
sprint over Luzio with Robert Lombardi (BVF) rounding out the podium in third.

Category 5
12 miles

1. Rod Millot (CRCA)
2. Darell Vasquez (Strictly Bicycles)
3. Wojciech Plata (Kissea)
4. Joseph Mueller (Unatt)
5. Mark Sywin (Unatt)

Brief Race Report: The race stayed together with Rod Millot (CRCA) taking the fieldsprint win.
Interesting to note who finished second in the fieldsprint - none other than legendary New York
fieldsprinter Wilson Vasquez's 16 year old son Darell Vasquez in his first season of racing.  Is this a changing of the guard?

Thanks to all the officials, marshals, pacers, registration volunteers and to Mr. I who spent the the day before getting the course ready to race!

The next race at Floyd Bennett Field will take place on Saturday, April 17, with the Kings County Challenge.  For more info go to: