Whitmore's Landscaping Super Cross Cup, a UCI cat 2 event

Southampton, NY

Sunday, October 3, 2004

Whitmore's Landscaping Super Cross Cup, a UCI cat 2 event
Presented by
Hampton Velo Club
Southampton, NY
Sunday, October 03, 2004

These results are provided for informational purposes only.  Please note that
the protest period for this event has expired and no changes can or will be made
to these results.

East coast UCI schedule underway

A beautiful fall day on the east end of Long Island brought out some good
competition in the east coast's first UCI race of the season, the 2004
Whitmore's Landscaping Super Cross Cup.  The cross fanatics of the Hampton
Velo Club sought to give the riders a challenge, and the riders were not
disappointed in the toughness of the course.

The women's field was light but contained some heavy hitters, led by
Christine Vardaros (Velo Bella), reigning state champion Anna Milkowski
(Rona), and 30+ national champion Marianne Stover (Independent
Fabrications).  As has been the case in previous races, Stover got a great
start and only Vardaros was able to stay close by the end of the first lap.
Milkowski wound up with a chase group containing local rider Sinead
Fitzgibbon (CRCA/Aquafina) and Maureen Bruno (Cyclocrossworld.com) and the
three riders managed to stay in touch with the leaders.  But the technical
nature of the course took it's toll on Stover, as a crash on lap 2 gave
Vardaros the lead that she would never relinquish.  Milkowski meanwhile
found her legs and dropped Fitzgibbon and Bruno and went after Stover.  A
second crash at the same location by Stover gave Milkowski all she needed to
reel in and pass Stover as she powered away to a second place finish.
Stover managed to hang on to 3rd as a tiring Fitzgibbon could not keep pace
at the end.

The men lined up with 28 starters, with Mark McCormack (Clif Bar/Colavita)
clearly being the favorite.  However, it was Massachusetts native Johannes
Huesby (FiorDiFrutta) who got the hole shot and led most of lap 1 with
McCormack staying close.  But as Stover did in the women's race, Huesby got
in trouble in the technical sections, allowing McCormack to go clear to
stay.  Northampton, MA native Matt White (Northampton CC/BikeReg.com)
started slow but charged through the field and by the 2nd lap was away from
the bunch and only McCormack was not caught by the emerging espoir rider.
After having settled down, Huesby was able to maintain a 3rd place position
and was not challenged for the rest of the race.  The best race of the day
was for 4th position, as a group containing Ben Turner (TIAA-CREF), Tyler
Johnson (Richard Sachs), and Adam Hodges-Myerson (Cycle-Smart) constantly
fought each other tooth and nail through the twisty technical sections and
the fast flats for the entire 2nd half of the race.  The high paced action
was eventually too much for Johnson, who dropped back on the last lap; just
as Turner turned it up a notch and rode away from Myerson to secure 4th
spot.  Myerson rounded out the top 5.


Elite Men (28 starters)
1) Mark McCormack (USA) Clif Bar/Colavita - 57:31
2) Matt White (USA) Northampton CC/BikeReg.com - 58:27
3) Johannes Huesby (USA) FiorDiFrutta - 58:38
4) Ben Turner (USA) TIAA-CREF - 59:20
5) Adam Hodges-Myerson (USA) Cycle-Smart - 59:30
6) Tyler Johnson (USA) Richard Sachs - 59:37
7) Jonathan Hamblen (USA) FiorDiFrutta - 59:43
8) Jon Bruno (USA) Independent Fabrications - 1:00:23
9) Ryan Leech (USA) Fort/GPOA - 1:00:28
10) Jonny Bold (USA) Corner Cycles CC - 1:00:45
11) John Hanson (USA) Northampton CC/BikeReg.com - 1:01:01
12) Joe Reynolds (USA) Wissahickon - 1:01:19
13) Kevin Molloy (USA) CRCA/Sakkonet - 1:03:00
14) John Verhuel (USA) Ideal Tile/Brielle's Cyclery - 1:03:39

1 lap behind

15) John Loehner (USA) CRCA/Sakkonet
16) William Ellison (USA) Ideal Tile/Brielle's Cyclery
17) Matt Reale (USA) Hampton Velo Club
18) Ryan Broules (USA)
19) Rick Trojanowski (USA) Hampton Velo Club
20) Gary Keblish (USA) CRCA/Conrad's
21) Abdullah Din (USA) Missing Link
22) Karl Rahn (USA) CRCA/Sakkonet
23) Basil Moutsopoulous (USA) CRCA/Sakkonet
24) Jerry Kapko (SVK)
25) Jon Hansen (USA) Embestida
26) J.P. Partland (USA) Kissena Cycling Club

Elite Women (10 starters)
1) Christine Vardaros (USA) Velo Bella - 47:20
2) Anna Milkowski (USA) Rona - 48:02
3) Marianne Stover (USA) Independent Fabrications - 48:13
4) Maureen Bruno (USA) Cyclocrossworld.com - 48:26
5) Sinead Fitzgibbon (USA) CRCA/Aquafina - 48:42
6) Alicia Genest (USA) Richard Sachs - 51:46
7) Pauline Franscone (USA) Mystic Velo - 52:02
8) Lisa Most (USA) Wissahickon - 54:53

1 lap behind

9) Sami Fournier (USA) Velo Bella
10) Tammy Ebersole (USA) Evolution